How to Enroll in Ohio’s Medical Marijuana Program
Do you have a Qualifying Condition?
If you are an Ohio resident, are over the age of 18, and suffer from one of the following qualifying conditions, you are eligible to become a medical marijuana patient in Ohio.
Pain that is either chronic and severe or intractable
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Sickle cell anemia
Spinal cord disease or injury
Traumatic brain injury
AIDS or HIV positive status
Chronic traumatic encephalopathy
Epilepsy or other seizure disorder
Inflammatory bowel disease
Minors seeking relief from a qualifying condition are eligible to become a medical marijuana patient with consent from a parent or legal guardian.
Visit a recommending physician
Ohio physicians that have taken a 2-hour continuing education course on medical marijuana and have registered with the Ohio Board of Medicine will receive a Certificate to Recommend. You can find the latest list of recommending physicians here.
At your appointment, you will be asked to present an Ohio driver’s license, passport, or other state-issued ID. It may be helpful to bring your medical records, or record of your qualifying condition diagnosis.
The recommending physician will confirm your diagnosis, and can then provide you with a recommendation and begin your patient registration.
Complete your patient registration
Once your recommending physician has submitted your patient information to the Board of Pharmacy Patient Registry, you will receive an email prompting you to complete the registration by activating your account and submitting the $50 registration fee.
You must activate your account and submit the patient fee within 90 days of receiving the email.
After you complete your patient registration, you will receive a patient ID that you can either print or access on your phone.
Visit a dispensary
You must visit a dispensary within 60 days of receiving your patient ID.
At each dispensary visit you will be asked to provide your patient registry ID and either a passport, Ohio driver’s license, or other state-issued ID.
You will have a 1-on-1 consultation about which products, forms, and methods of administration might be helpful for your condition.
Medical marijuana will be available in the form of flower, oils, tinctures, edibles, transdermal patches, and lotions and topicals. The law prohibits the use of medical marijuana by smoking or combustion, but does allow for vaporization.
You will be permitted to purchase up to a 90-day supply within any 90-day period, and at a minimum will purchase a single day supply at each visit:
2.83 g flower
.1g THC content in edibles
.59 g THC content in oil
8 oz flower with 23% or less THC
5 3/10 oz flower between 23% and 35% THC
9.9 g of THC content in edibles
53.1 g of THC content in oil
Single Day Minimum